Scroll to top

University of Otago, New Zealand

The University of Otago, founded in 1869, is New Zealand’s first and finest university. It enjoys a world-wide reputation for excellence, successfully balancing the tradition of its history with modern scholarship and research. It offers a unique campus lifestyle, creating a culture of learning that reflects the special characteristics of New Zealand together with international academic values. The University of Otago is recognised as a world-class research institution with particular strengths in the health-related and biological sciences. The University has been recognised as New Zealand’s most research-intensive university and was ranked the top university in New Zealand for research quality in the Tertiary Education Commission’s latest PBRF Quality Evaluation. It houses New Zealand’s first medical school and only dental school, along with New Zealand’s National School of Pharmacy. The quality of degrees in health professional courses such as medicine, dentistry, physiotherapy, medical laboratory science, and dietetics is internationally respected. The Schools of Medicine and Health Sciences based at the University of Otago’s northern campuses are key elements of some of the University’s Health Sciences activities. They provide clinical teaching programmes for undergraduate medical students as well as conducting thriving research and postgraduate teaching programmes. These campuses along with the home campus in Dunedin make this university a truly national university.   For Pharmacy Transfer  Student

  • Students who have completed their second year of study of their Bachelor of Pharmacy degree at the IMU, can transfer to the BPharm degree at Otago with direct entry into the third year of the four year degree, subject to completing a short (2 week) bridging course.
  • The School of Pharmacy at this University publishes a newsletter periodically.  It carries a mix of the latest news, updates and features.