Scroll to top

The Senate is the highest academic body of the University and is responsible for University-wide policies. It is here that proposed changes in the practices and structure of the IMU are deliberated.

The power of the Senate is stipulated in the IMU Constitution. It gives the Senate the prerogative over the general direction of the institution in the following areas:

  • Admission of students
  • Research and examination
  • The determination and award of degrees, diplomas, certificates and other academic distinctions, subject to the provisions of the Constitution, the Statutes, Rules and Regulations.

The Senate meets bi-monthly, or 6 times a year.

Vice-Chancellor, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Pro Vice-Chancellor

Prof Abdul Aziz Baba

Vice-Chancellor, IMU Education

Prof Dr Zabidi Azhar Mohd Hussin

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Academic

Prof Vishna Devi A/P V Nadarajah

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Education & Institutional Development

Prof Victor Lim

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Quality and Special Functions

Prof Datuk Dr Lokman Hakim Bin Sulaiman

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research

Dean of Schools

A/Prof Dr Tan Eng Lai

Dean, School of Postgraduate Studies

Prof Ian M Symonds

Dean, School of Medicine

Prof Seow Liang Lin

Dean, School of Dentistry

A/Prof Mohd Zulkefeli bin Mat Jusoh

Dean, School of Pharmacy

Prof Winnie Chee Siew Swee

Dean, School of Health Sciences


Prof Toh Chooi Gait

Pro Vice-Chancellor, Engagement and Industrial Partnership

Prof Nazimah Idris

Medical Director, IMU Healthcare

Prof Khoo Suan Phaik

Dean, Community Engagement

Prof Er Hui Meng

Dean, Teaching & Learning

Prof Sharifah Sulaiha Hj Syed Aznal

Associate Dean, Clinical Affairs & Development, School of Medicine

Prof Mallikarjuna Rao Pichika

Associate Dean, Research & Consultancy, School of Pharmacy

Prof Chin Beek Yoke

Associate Dean, Research & External Affairs, School of Health Sciences

Prof Azizi bin Ayob

Deputy Director, Commercialisation & Support

Prof Leong Chee Onn

Deputy Director, Research (IRDI)

Prof Shar Mariam Binti Mohamed

Associate Dean, School of Postgraduate Studies

Prof Zhou Wenxin

Professor, Chinese Medicine

Prof James Koh Kwee Choy

Professor, Internal Medicine

Prof Dr Ong Chin Eng

Professor, Life Sciences

Prof Nafeeza Hj Mohd Ismail

Professor, Pharmacology & Therapeutics

Prof Dato’ N.Sivalingam A/L Nalliah

Professor, Surgery

Lim Kean Ghee

Professor, Surgery

Prof Shahid Hassan

Professor, Surgery

Prof Dato’ P Kandasami A/L Palayan

Professor, Surgery

Ex-Officio Members

Christy Chiu

Chief Financial Officer & Chief Operating Officer

Zuhanariah Mohd Nordin

Chief Librarian

Noor Azlinda Binti Aripin

Legal Counsel, Legal & Secretarial


Noraidah Yusoff