Scroll to top

IMU Chancellor Received Merdeka Award 2018

06 Sep 2018

Recognised for his outstanding contribution in his pioneering work in developing a successful, exemplary commercial model for R&D for Malaysia’s universities, and through his extensive work and leadership role in the fields for clinical pharmacology, pharmaceutical sciences and drug- related research in the country, IMU’s Chancellor, Dato’ Dr Gan Ee Kiang was awarded the prestigious Merdeka Award 2018 for the Health, Science and Technology Category (joint recipient).

He received the award from His Royal Highness The Sultan of Perak Darul Ridzuan, Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah, who is also the royal patron of the Merdeka Award on September 3, 2018 at the Four Seasons Hotel Kuala Lumpur.

The Merdeka Award was first established in 2007 by PETRONAS, ExxonMobil and Shell. As Malaysia’s most prestigious award for excellence, it is conferred to outstanding individuals and organisations that embody the “Spirit of Merdeka” in their pursuit of excellence. Today, a total of 49 individuals and two organisations have received the Merdeka Award. Each award category confers a trophy, certificate of recognition and cash award. These Merdeka Award winners include:

IMU’s Pro-Chancellor Tan Sri Dato’ Dr Yahya bin Awang Health, Science and Technology Category 2013
IMU’s Emeritus Professor Prof Mak Joon Wah Outstanding Scholastic Achievement Category 2011

To read more on their outstanding contributions, please click the links below:

Leave Comment

Your email address will not be published.