Scroll to top

IRDI’s Head, Centre for Cancer and Stem Cells Research Awarded AYPG Professional Excellence Award

28 Nov 2018

26 October – Head, Centre for Cancer and Stem Cells Research, Institute for Research, Development and Innovation (IRDI) and IMU School of Pharmacy Lecturer, Dr Mai Chun Wai was awarded the AYPG Professional Excellence Award by the Asian Young Pharmacists Group for his dedicated service and outstanding contribution to the profession by showing excellence in every aspect of his professional career. Commenting on receiving the award, Dr Mai Chun Wai said, “I am deeply honoured and humbled to receive this award from the Asian Young Pharmacists Group. A very special thanks to AYPG for selecting me. There is no satisfaction more precious than the esteem of one’s peers for doing something that you love and strongly believe in.”

About Dr Mai Chun Wai 
  Dr Mai Chun Wai graduated with First Class Honours and Dean’s List from the IMU Bachelor of Pharmacy (BPharm) in 2009. He was the recipient of Sanofi-Aventis Award and Kotra Pharma Award for excellence in research and pharmaceutical technology, respectively, in the graduating class. He was also awarded the IMU Young Alumnus Award 2012. Chun Wai graduated with PhD in Medical and Health Sciences (By Research) from IMU in 2014. In view of his outstanding performance in research, Chun Wai is also the winner for best posters or oral presenters in several national and international conferences. He is actively participating in several projects with national research grants. His research findings are also available in international scientific papers. He was the recipient of the Southeast Asia-European Union-NET II (SEA-EU-NET II) Fellowship 2016 (the only Malaysian, and one of the 6 Asians), United Kingdom Royal Society of Chemistry Research Mobility Award 2016 (the only Malaysian), United Kingdom Researcher Mobility in Drug Discovery 2015 (the only Malaysian), and Sultan Mizan Antarctic Research Foundation (YPASM) Research Fellowship 2015 (one of the two selected Malaysians).

Leave Comment

Your email address will not be published.